"…the picture of free, untrammeled womanhood"

31 Jul

“Let me tell you what I think of bicycling. I think it has done more to emancipate women than anything else in the world. It gives women a feeling of freedom and self-reliance. I stand and rejoice every time I see a woman ride by on a wheel…the picture of free, untrammeled womanhood.”
Susan Brownell Anthony
…or just two women on bikes.

Today’s City Daily Photo start-of-the-month theme is bicycles, those things that fish really need …

8 Responses to “"…the picture of free, untrammeled womanhood"”

  1. Kate July 31, 2015 at 11:23 pm #

    Yes, freedom for women is a very good thing!

  2. Julie August 1, 2015 at 10:03 am #

    Only one aspect of freedom, though. Look at them Straight-jacketed into a uniform! Dark top. Blue jeans. Long hair. Sure, one is swept up.

    Untrammeled, my foot.

  3. EG CameraGirl August 1, 2015 at 12:06 pm #

    I guess in the 1800s a bike would have been very freeing for women! I'd never thought about that until I saw your Susan B. Anthony quote. 😉

  4. william braquemard August 1, 2015 at 12:15 pm #

    Of course nobody is untrammeled really. I thought the quote, which dates from about 1890 (I think), was deliciously OTT. There is, of course, the freedom to be exactly like your best mate if you so choose …

  5. William Kendall August 1, 2015 at 2:50 pm #

    I like the modern style of the bridge.

  6. Denton Harryman August 1, 2015 at 4:20 pm #

    bicycling has has always meant freedom to me … but never specifically thought of it as emancipating for women

  7. Petrea Burchard August 1, 2015 at 5:51 pm #

    I want a bike but my husband won't let me have one…

  8. LOLfromPasa August 2, 2015 at 10:57 am #

    The quote is inspiring! I'm going to hop on my bike and go for a ride.

Leave a Reply

